Commitment Awards 2015

By Nádia Guerlenda Cabral

During a wonderful ceremony on July 12th, which took place in the Kaisersaal, the winners of the 2015 Commitment Award were announced.

1st prize: Jessie Jhon Mateo-Magkilat (Philippines) and Hannah Yan-Wai Saley (Canada)
Sample Pamphlet jpeg

Their project “Reading on Wheels” aims to bring the joy of reading to street children in the Philippine city of Cagayan de Oro. The prize money helped to purchase little trolleys and books and the project is fully functioning. Volunteers from Cagayan de Oro-based Xavier University go to the streets and read stories to the kids. For their project, the winners benefited from the Brandt School’s global Alumni network: Manilee Pañares, MPP student in Erfurt from 2012 to 2014, works at Xavier University and lends her support to the project.


2nd prize: Theresia Nkafu Atemkeng (Cameroon)

2nd Prize

The project “Shelter to Educate” provides a scholarship for two years accommodation and school fee support to three women between 18 and 25 years from rural communities in the Buea region of Cameroon.  This is done by implementing a special housing model, where coaching and mentoring by the landlord is a part of the educational process. The project was so successful that it was able to provide accommodation to one more beneficiary than originally planned.


3rd prize: George Ayuune Akeliwira (Ghana)


The project “Giving Hope to Hopeless Tomatoes Farmers of Zorko” supports farmers in the North of Ghana by providing water pumps to the rural community of Zorko, where more than 90 percent of the population is depending on agriculture and water supply is a big problem in the dry season.